Rocked not shaken

Normann Copenhagen is the place to shop for neat home accessories, especially stemware. Personally I have a weakness for glasses. If I walk into a store and see some really cool stemware I always tempted to buy. If you are like me and need to update your stemware (well let’s be just use the term wares…you’ll see what I mean below) let me introduce the Rocking Glass 

Britt Bonnesen, the designer explains

I conceived the idea of the Rocking Glass after watching an old movie about propeller aircraft. The old aircraft produced a lot of vibration therefore the glasses and tableware were designed not to spill. That’s how the idea of the Rocking Glass arose. Besides the fact that it’s rocking function is fun, the glass is also a sensuous experience. The rounded shape gives you the feeling of holding a sphere in your hand, and when you put it down, the rocking movements call forth a smile. You can put just about anything in; coffee, tea, drinks, snacks, tea lights or a little flower. Let me add my 2 cents; how about putting some dessert in there hmm?

Next on the list is the Cognac Glass

 

Rikke Hagen, the designer explains

I wanted to craft a cognac glass. The perfect gift to the man, who has everything. The inspiration springs from my own perception of when you drink a cognac; that is when you have time and in calm surroundings. I wanted the glass to give the user a feeling of a gentleman’s study and at the same time, the sense of calmness you get when you e.g. fondle a stone. The stem kept irritating me. I took the consequence and cut it off. That’s how my Cognac glass was born.

And last on the list is the Whiskey Glass, also designed by Rikke Hagen.

Now I’m thirsty!

This entry was written by Ray-Lee and published on April 25, 2012 at 1:53 pm. It’s filed under Accessories, Contemporary Design, Creativity, Home Accessories, Home Decor, Innovative design, Modern Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Rocked not shaken

  1. These are pretty neat. I have seen some unique glasses lately here in LA

  2. I found your blog on yahoo and can bookmark it currently. carry on the nice work. 576206

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Questions, thoughts, comments

